About Saint Lucia an island country in the Caribbean Sea

Saint Lucia is an island country in the eastern Caribbean Sea on the boundary with the Atlantic Ocean. Part of the Lesser Antilles, it is located north/northeast of the islands of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, northwest of Barbados and south of Martinique, and covers a land area of 238 square miles.

Saint Lucia is a volcanic island, with more mountains than most other Caribbean islands. The highest point is Mount Gimie at 3,120 feet above sea level. Two other mountains, the Pitons, form the island’s most famous landmark. They are located between Soufrière and Choiseul on the island’s western side. Saint Lucia is one of the few islands in the world that boasts a drive-in volcano.

Castries is the capital city of Saint Lucia, home to about one-third of the population lives. Major towns include Gros Islet, Soufrière and Vieux Fort. The island climate is tropical, moderated by northeast trade winds, with a dry season from December to May and a wet season from June to November.